Thursday, April 15, 2021
 
Columnist
Martin Hennecke
 
HANG SENG BANK
HKEx Stock Code : 00011 
 
Corporate Profile
The Group is engaged in the provision of banking and related financial services.

Business Review - For the year ended December 31, 2012

Hang Seng Bank Limited (.the Bank') and its subsidiaries (.the Group') reported a profit attributable to shareholders of HK$19,426m for 2012, up 15.0% compared with 2011. Earnings per share were up by 15.1% to HK$10.16. Profit attributable to shareholders for the second half of 2012 increased by HK$822m, or 8.8%, compared with the first half.

Operating profit excluding loan impairment charges grew by HK$1,371m, or 9.4%, to HK$15,992m. This was underpinned by asset and deposit growth, increases in both net interest income and non-interest income, partly offset by the rise in operating expenses.

Net interest income grew by HK$1,210m, or 7.7%, to HK$16,946m, with an increase of 3.5% in average interest-earning assets. The Bank's successful efforts to expand and diversify lending and attract new deposits drove an increase in both average loans and deposits. Liability spreads have improved reflecting the increased value of core funding while asset spreads have narrowed as a result of an increase in cost of funds. The increase in net interest income also benefited from the increased returns from the life insurance investment funds portfolio. However, there was a decline in balance sheet management income, as yield curves continued to flatten and interest rates remained low. The net interest margin improved by seven basis points to 1.85% compared with last year.

Net fee income grew by HK$250m, or 5.2%, to HK$5,086m. The Bank continued to offer a wide range of retail investment funds to meet different investor risk appetites and launched the first renminbi-denominated gold exchange-traded fund (.ETF'), the Hang Seng RMB Gold ETF that caters for the growing demand for renminbi wealth management products. Income from retail investment fund grew encouragingly by 24.9%. Insurance-related fee income rose by 51.7%, reflecting the increase in non-life insurance products distribution commission in the second half of the year following the disposal of the general insurance manufacturing business to a third party insurance services provider. The increase in non-life insurance products distribution commission will be offset by a corresponding decrease in non-life insurance underwriting profit. Growth in cardholder spending, receivables and the card base helped support an 11.3% rise in card services fees. Credit facilities fee income rose by 40.7%, due mainly to higher fees from increased corporate lending. Fees from remittances and trade services increased by 10.3% and 18.0% respectively, on the back of growing trade activities and the expansion of renminbi cross-border trade settlement volumes. However, income from stockbroking and related services decreased by 26.8%, reflecting the decline in stock market trading turnover.

Trading income reached HK$2,063m, a rise of HK$267m, or 14.9%, over last year. Foreign exchange income increased by HK$143m, or 7.8%, attributable partly to increased net interest income from funding swaps and continued strong customer activity, notably in renminbi foreign exchange-linked structured products. Income from securities, derivatives and other trading activities registered a gain of HK$77m compared with a loss of HK$47m last year, mainly contributed by the gains on equity options backing a life endowment product on the back of favourable movements in the underlying equity indices in the latter part of the year, which resulted in a corresponding increase in .Net insurance claims incurred and movement in policyholder liabilities'. This was partly offset by the losses on other derivatives trading which was affected by unfavourable interest rate movements and other securities trading.

Income from the insurance business (included under .net interest income', .net fee income', .trading income', .net income from financial instruments designated at fair value', .net earned insurance premiums', .movement in present value of in-force long-term insurance business' within .other operating income', .share of profits from associates', and after deducting .net insurance claims incurred and movement in policyholders' liabilities') rose significantly by HK$944m, or 39.6%, to HK$3,326m. Diversification of the product range with the launch of new plans that offer a diverse range of retirement savings and protection products proved effective in driving sales. Total policies in-force and total annualised life insurance new premiums rose by 8.6% and 13.1% respectively. Net interest income and fee income from the life insurance business grew by 10.4% benefiting from higher life insurance sales volume and the increase in the size of the life insurance funds investment portfolio. The investment return on the life insurance funds investment portfolio improved strongly, benefiting from the recovering equities market and the upward commercial property market during 2012. To the extent that this fair value gain was attributed to policyholders of unit-linked life insurance policies, there was a corresponding increase in .net insurance claims incurred and movement in policyholders' liabilities'.

Operating expenses rose by HK$491m, or 6.2%, to HK$8,389m. While carefully managing costs, the Bank continued to make investments for business development in Hong Kong and Mainland to support long-term business growth. The operating expenses of our Hong Kong operations rose by 4.7%, reflecting wage inflation, processing costs, rental and marketing expenditure. Mainland-related operating expenses rose by 15.3%, attributable mainly to the ongoing business expansion of Hang Seng China. Despite the increase in costs, the Bank's cost efficiency ratio remains one of the lowest in the industry. The Bank continues to focus on improving operational efficiency while maintaining growth momentum and market leadership.

Loan impairment charges decreased by HK$54m, or 12.3%, to HK$386m. Individually assessed impairment charges fell by HK$46m, or 44.7%, reflecting lower charges for corporate and commercial banking customers for Hong Kong operations in 2012. The charges for individually assessed impairments for Mainland customers were higher, due mainly to the downgrading of certain commercial banking customers. Collectively assessed impairment charges dropped by HK$8m, or 2.4%, to HK$329m. Impairment charges on the credit card and personal loans portfolios increased, which reflected growth in the portfolios. Impairment allowances for loans not individually identified as impaired recorded a net release compared with a net charge in 2011, mainly due to improved historical loss rates.

Operating profit rose by HK$1,425m, or 10.0%, to HK$15,606m.

Business Outlook - For the year ended December 31, 2012

Concerns over the continuing financial difficulties in the eurozone and the US fiscal cliff in the second half of 2012 put significant downward pressure on international economic activity.

Weak global export demand constrained Hong Kong's externally oriented economy, resulting in total GDP growth of just 1% for the first three quarters of the year V the lowest level since 2009. Buoyed by investment in large-scale public projects, the favourable employment market and vibrant property sector, robust consumer and investment spending cushioned the impact of subdued international trade, driving a solid rebound in economic expansion during the fourth quarter, resulting in overall growth of 1.4% in 2012.

GDP growth on the Mainland was 7.8% in 2012 V the slowest rate since 1999. External conditions remain a significant obstacle, but Central Government investment in infrastructure and other stimulus measures are driving domestic sector activity. Recent signs indicate that the economy may have bottomed out. GDP growth in the fourth quarter was 7.9% V up from 7.4% in the preceding quarter. We expect further recovery to 8% in 2013, given the moderating effects of global economic headwinds and government concerns over speculation in the property sector.

With the eurozone debt crisis still unresolved and the fragile state of economic recovery in the US, challenging operating conditions will persist in 2013. However, the Mainland is likely to maintain a steady pace of growth. Increasing economic integration in the Greater China region and Hong Kong's continuing development as a leading centre for offshore renminbi financial services will boost business expansion.

We will take full advantage of these opportunities by further leveraging our competitive strengths V including our well-respected brand, diverse range of service channels and excellent cross-border capabilities V to enhance our strong position in key areas of business and acquire new customers to support sustainable growth.

This year sees Hang Seng reach its 80th anniversary. As we celebrate this major milestone, we are more determined than ever to uphold our core principles and build on the good progress we have made in our dedicated efforts to provide increasing value for shareholders.

Source: Hang Seng Bank (00011) Annual Results Announcement
Chairman Raymond CH・IEN Kuo Fung Issued Capital (shares) 1,912M
Par Value HKD 5 Market Capitalisation (HKD) 234,010M
 
Login
Password
Register  Forget Password
Advanced Search
© 2021 The Standard, The Standard Newspapers Publishing Ltd.
Home | Business | Metro | Focus | Opinion | Markets | World | Sports | Entertainment | Monday Money | Property | Macau | Weekend

2021年3月5日星期五
 
專家論市
Martin Hennecke
 
琤芼行
HKEx 股份編號 : 00011 
 
公司簡介
集團從事銀行業及有關之金融服務。

業務回顧 - 截至2012年12月31日止年度

琤芼行有限公司(「本行」)及各附屬公司(「本集團」)於2012年之股東應得溢利為港幣194.26億元,較2011年增加15.0%。每股盈利增加15.1%,為港幣10.16元。2012年下半年之股東應得溢利,較上半年增加港幣8.22億元,或8.8%。

扣除貸款減值提撥前之營業溢利增加港幣13.71億元,或9.4%,為港幣159.92億元。原因是資產及存款均有增長,而淨利息收入及非利息收入亦有增加,惟此方面之利好因素,部分被營業支出增加而抵銷。

淨利息收入增加港幣12.1億元,或7.7%,為港幣169.46億元。賺取利息之平均資產亦增加3.5%。本行成功拓展貸款及作多元化發展,並能吸納新存款,令平均貸款及存款皆錄得增長。負債息差改善,反映核心資金增值,資產息差則因資金成本增加而收窄。受惠於人壽保險資金投資組合之回報上升,淨利息收入因此有所增加。然而,由於收益率曲線持續平坦化加上利率低企,令來自資產負債表管理之收入下降。與去年比較,淨利息收益率改善7個基點,為1.85%。

淨服務費收入增加港幣2.5億元,或5.2%,為港幣50.86億元。為照顧投資者不同的風險接受程度,本行繼續推出多元化零售投資基金,並推出首隻以人民幣計價的黃金交易所買賣基金「琤秅H民幣黃金ETF」,以配合客戶對人民幣財富管理產品日益增加的需求。來自零售投資基金之收入增加24.9%,增幅令人鼓舞。保險相關服務費收入增加51.7%,反映本行將其非人壽保險業務出售予第三方保險服務供應商後,來自非人壽保險產品之分銷佣金於下半年有所增加。非人壽保險產品之分銷佣金雖然增加,但被非人壽保險產品之承保溢利相應減少而抵銷。在信用卡消費、應收賬項及客戶數目均有增長的情況下,信用卡服務費收入上升11.3%。信貸融通之服務費收入增加40.7%,主要由於企業貸款業務增長,令相關之服務費收入上升。貿易活動增加,加上人民幣跨境貿易結算金額擴大,帶動匯款及貿易相關服務費收入分別上升10.3%及18.0%。由於股市交投縮減,來自證券經紀及有關服務之收入減少26.8%。

交易收入為港幣20.63億元,較去年增加港幣2.67億元,或14.9%。外匯交易收入增加港幣1.43億元,或7.8%,部分原因是來自外匯掉期活動之淨利息收入增加,加上客戶交易持續活躍,尤其為人民幣外匯掛.結構性產品。來自證券、衍生工具及其他交易活動的收入錄得港幣7,700萬元的收益,而去年則有港幣4,700萬元之虧損,主要由於支持一隻儲蓄壽險計劃之股票期權因其掛.股票指數於下半年的利好變動而錄得收益,導致「保險索償淨額及保單持有人負債變動」相應上調。然而,不利之利率變動,導致其他衍生工具交易出現虧損,加上其他證券交易亦錄得虧損,部分抵銷了上述之利好因素。

來自保險業務之收入(包含於「淨利息收入」、「淨服務費收入」、「交易收入」、「指定以公平價值列賬之金融工具收入淨額」、「保費收益淨額」、「其他營業收入」項下之「長期保險業務之有效保單現值變動」,以及「應佔聯營公司之溢利」,並已扣減「保險索償淨額及保單持有人負債變動」),大幅上升港幣9.44億元,或39.6%,為港幣33.26億元。本行致力將產品多元化,推出可提供不同選擇之退休儲蓄及保障產品,成功地增加銷售。有效保單總數及新做人壽保險業務之年度保費總額分別增加8.6%及13.1%。受惠於人壽保險銷售額上升,以及人壽保險資金投資組合之規模增加,來自人壽保險業務之淨利息收入及服務費收入增長10.4%。2012年股票市場復甦,加上商業物業市場向好,令來自人壽保險資金投資組合之投資回報有強勁增長。該項公平價值之增加,乃由單位連結人壽保單之持有人所帶動,「保險索償淨額及保單持有人負債變動」項下因此有相應增加。

營業支出增加港幣4.91億元,或6.2%,為港幣83.89億元。本行於審慎控制成本之同時,亦對香港及內地之業務發展作出投資,以支持長遠業務增長。香港業務之營業支出增加4.7%,原因是工資上漲,加上處理服務費,租金及市場推廣支出均有所增加。與內地業務有關的營業支出增加15.3%,主要由於琤秅什磭鬮繺o展業務所致。雖然成本上升,但本行之成本效益比率仍屬同業中最低之列。本行於保持業務增長及市場領導地位之同時,會繼續以提高營運效率為目標。

貸款減值提撥減少港幣5,400萬元,或12.3%,為港幣3.86億元。個別評估減值提撥減少港幣4,600萬元,或44.7%,原因為2012年香港業務的企業及商業銀行客戶貸款減值提撥減少。內地客戶之個別評估減值提撥較高,原因為若干商業銀行客戶的貸款評級被調低。綜合評估減值提撥減少港幣800萬元,或2.4%,為港幣3.29億元。信用卡及私人貸款組合減值提撥有所增加,反映組合增長。毋須作個別減值之貸款減值準備錄得淨回撥,而2011年則為淨提撥,主要因為過去損失率有所改善。

營業溢利增加港幣14.25億元,或10.0%,為港幣156.06億元。

業務展望 - 截至2012年12月31日止年度

於2012年下半年,由於對歐元區金融困境持續以及美國財政懸崖問題之憂慮,令環球經濟活動顯著受壓。

全球出口需求疲弱,令外向型的香港經濟備受制肘,2012年首三季之本地生產總值只有1%之增長,乃自2009年以來之最低水平。然而,在大型公共項目投資、勞工市場保持穩定以及房地產市場買賣活躍的支持下,強勁的消費及資本項目支出有助紓緩國際貿易下降所帶來之影響,令第四季之經濟穩步回升,2012年全年經濟增長為1.4%。

內地方面,2012年全年之國內生產總值增長7.8%,乃自1999年以來之最低增幅。雖然外圍環境仍是主要障礙,但中央政府對基建項目進行投資加上其他刺激經濟措施,均有助推動國內經濟活動,而近期亦有跡象顯示內地經濟或已跌至谷底。第四季度之國內生產總值增長為7.9%,而上一季度則為7.4%。展望2013年,由於面對全球經濟阻力,加上政府對房地產市場投機活動之關注,將會令增長步伐放緩,預期全年國內生產總值會進一步回升至8%。

由於歐元區債務危機仍然揮之不去,而美國經濟復甦的基礎亦欠穩,2013年的經營環境將會繼續充滿挑戰。然而,內地可望維持穩定之增長。大中華地區進一步經濟融合,加上香港繼續發展成為領先的離岸人民幣金融服務中心,均有助本行之業務擴展。

本行會進一步發揮競爭優勢,包括優越之品牌、多元化之服務渠道,以及卓越之跨境業務能力,充分把握各種業務機會,並提升本行在主要業務領域的鞏固地位,藉此爭取新客戶,達致持續之增長。

今年是琤穻言80周年,於慶祝邁向這個重要里程之同時,本行會繼續堅持其核心原則,並會在努力建立的良好基礎上向前邁進,為股東增值。

資料來源: 琤芼行 (00011) 全年業績公告
集團主席 錢果豐 發行股本(股) 1,912M
票面值 港元 5 市價總值 (港元) 234,010M
 
登入名稱
密碼
新用戶注冊   忘記密碼
進階搜尋
© 2021 The Standard, The Standard Newspapers Publishing Ltd.
Home | Business | Metro | Focus | Opinion | Markets | World | Sports | Entertainment | Monday Money | Property | Macau | Weekend