Monday, August 8, 2022
 
Columnist
Martin Hennecke
 
HARMONIC STR
HKEx Stock Code : 00033 
 
Corporate Profile
Principally engaged in the credit guarantee and investment business in the PRC, exporting business, the operation of concept hotels in Shenzhen and the provision of financial planning services in Hong Kong.

Business Review - For the year ended December 31, 2012

X Credit guarantee and investment business

In Current Year, the credit guarantee and investment business recorded revenue of HK$78.9 million and segmental profit of HK$56.3 million, both of which have great improvement from revenue of HK$6.0 million and segment loss of HK$9.9 million. The handsome return was mainly contributed by the disposal of its equity interest in a project company in respect of a piece of land located in Chaoyang District, Beijing, PRC.

In view of the increased inherent default risk of the overall market, the Group has determined to scale down the financial guarantee operations, which suspend the opening and expanding of the regional offices and branch offices and the upgrading the Taiwan operation.

During the Current Year, Market Speed Limited which is wholly-owned by the executive director of the Company, Mr. Tong Nai Kan, further covenanted by deed with the Company that it will (1) convert all its HK$150.0 million convertible bond, which were newly transferred to Market Speed Limited during the year, into fully-paid shares of the Company on or before the maturity date on August 26, 2015, subject to existing terms and conditions under which the convertible bond was issued by the Company and approved by the Stock Exchange, and waive its right to demand repayment from the Company in respect of any its convertible bond not so converted on the maturity date; and (2) procure all Market Speed Limited future transferees, if any, of the convertible bond transferred to observe and comply with the covenant. Therefore, the Company will no longer be required to provide for notional interest in respect of such amount of convertible bond in the future.

X Other business units

During the Current Year, the Group's export business was affected by the unfavorable operating conditions aroused in last year. The Group has appointed capable staff in the key positions of this segment and improved its operation efficiency by the effective cost control and simplifying the structure. Subjected to the recovery of banking facilities, the management believes the performance will be stabilized in next year.

The operation of our concept hotel business in Shenzhen during the Current Year was stable but facing a rapid change external business environmental and strong competitions. While the financial planning services business in Hong Kong was threaten by the unfavorable business environments including intense market competition and recruitment difficulties.

Business Outlook - For the year ended December 31, 2012

As the expectation of the unfavorable environment leading the impairment of the goodwill in the Current year will be lasted, the credit guarantee and investment business may not have any critical improvement in the next few years. However, the management is still looking good the China market and the Group will explore and capture any other new opportunities in any industries in China by utilizing its networks in Hong Kong, Taiwan and China.

Source: Harmonic Strait (00033) Annual Results Announcement
Chairman N/A Issued Capital (shares) 1,748M
Par Value HKD 0.1 Market Capitalisation (HKD) 229M
 
Login
Password
Register  Forget Password
Advanced Search
© 2022 The Standard, The Standard Newspapers Publishing Ltd.
Home | Business | Metro | Focus | Opinion | Markets | World | Sports | Entertainment | Monday Money | Property | Macau | Weekend

2022年1月19日星期三
 
專家論市
Martin Hennecke
 
和協海峽金融集團
HKEx 股份編號 : 00033 
 
公司簡介
主要於中國從事信用擔保及投資業務、出口業務、於深圳經營精品酒店及於香港提供財務策劃服務。

業務回顧 - 截至2012年12月31日止年度

—信用擔保及投資業務

於本年度,信用擔保及投資業務錄得78.9百萬港元收入及56.3百萬港元分部溢利,兩者均較6.0百萬港元收入及9.9百萬港元分部虧損大幅改善。回報理想主要由於出售有關一幅位於中國北京市朝陽區之土地的投資項目之股權所致。

鑑於整體市場之內在違約風險增加,本公司矢志縮減財務擔保業務規模,即暫停開設及擴充區域辦事處及分公司以及暫停將台灣業務升級。

於本年度,由本公司執行董事唐乃勤先生全資擁有的MarketSpeedLimited以契約向本公司進一步承諾其將會(1)在不違反本公司發行可換股債券時及聯交所批核時之現有條款及條件的前提下,於到期日二零一五年八月二十六日或之前把年內新轉讓予MarketSpeedLimited價值為150.0百萬港元之所有可換股債券轉換為本公司繳足股份,並豁免要求本公司償還於到期日未轉換的任何可換股債券之權利;及(2)促使MarketSpeedLimited所有於未來承讓可換股債券之受讓者(如有)遵守並遵從契諾。故此,本公司將來毋須再就可換股債券的有關款項撥備名義利息。

—其他業務單位

於本年度,本集團之出口業務受到去年艱難的經營環境影響。本集團已委任若干能幹員工擔任此分部的主要職位,並透過有效成本監控及精簡架構改善營運效率。儘管受恢復銀行融資額所規限,管理層認為本集團來年將表現穩健。

本年度,我們位於深圳的精品酒店業務穩定,惟須面對急劇轉變的外部營商環境以及激烈競爭。同時,香港的財務策劃服務業務亦受市場競爭激烈及招聘困難等不利營商環境影響。

業務展望 - 截至2012年12月31日止年度

由於預期本年度不利營商環境導致的商譽減值將維持下去,信用擔保及投資業務於未來數年未必會錄得任何重大增長。然而,管理層繼續看好中國市場,且本集團將充分善用其於香港、台灣及中國之網絡,以探尋及把握中國任何行業的任何其他新商機。



資料來源: 和協海峽金融集團 (00033) 全年業績公告
集團主席 不適用 發行股本(股) 1,748M
票面值 港元 0.1 市價總值 (港元) 229M
 
登入名稱
密碼
新用戶注冊   忘記密碼
進階搜尋
© 2022 The Standard, The Standard Newspapers Publishing Ltd.
Home | Business | Metro | Focus | Opinion | Markets | World | Sports | Entertainment | Monday Money | Property | Macau | Weekend