Tuesday, April 13, 2021
 
Columnist
Martin Hennecke
 
CHINA GAMMA
HKEx Stock Code : 00164 
 
Corporate Profile
The Group focus on the development of strategic rare resources business, this business will become the major core business of the Group. The Group's other businesses include Gamma ray irradiation services; Property development, rental and sales; Trading of building materials & provision of renovation services; Securities trading and investment.

Business Review - For the year ended March 31, 2013

Property Business

The Group's property business includes property development, rental and sales and trading of building materials and provision of renovation services.

As discussed in the Interim Report 2012 of the Company, the growth of property market in the PRC slowed down in recent years. In light of the uncertainty of market conditions, the Group took the opportunity to transact its properties under development which located in Chongqing, the PRC in August 2012. The disposal realized a total proceeds of RMB35,000,000 (equivalent to approximately HK$42,840,000) and recognized a gain of approximately HK$1,656,000.

Total proceed generated from our property business was HK$50,886,000 (2012: HK$17,316,000) including the proceed of disposing subsidiaries holding properties in China, turnover of property development, rental and sales and trading of building materials and provision of renovation services, which were approximately HK$42,840,000, HK$8,018,000 and HK$28,000 for the year (2012: HK$Nil, HK$16,450,000 and HK$866,000) respectively. Segment loss from property development, rental and sales narrowed down to HK$2,185,000 (2012 as restated: HK$6,345,000) while loss for trading of building materials and provision of renovation services was HK$774,000 (2012: HK$392,000).

Gamma Ray Irradiation Services

Gamma ray irradiation is a proven effective means of cold pasteurization of food and sterilization of medical products. The Group's gamma ray irradiation business is conducted through 淄博利源高科輻照技術有限公司 (Zibo Liyuan Gamma Ray Technologies Co. Limited*), a 80% owned subsidiary of the Group which is licensed by Ministry of Environmental Protection of the PRC for provisioning of irradiation services by utilizing gamma ray technologies. Turnover generated from the gamma ray irradiation services for the financial year was HK$5,941,000 (2012: HK$9,404,000). This segment reported a loss of HK$2,515,000 (2012: Profit of HK$1,080,000). During the financial year under review, an increase in competition which resulted in a decline in margins amidst weaker market demand have affected the operating performance of the business. As such, the Group has increased its marketing efforts, including conducting more seminars to expand customer base during the year. Despite moderate competition may happen in the short term, the Group believes there will be long term sustainable growth in this industry.

Resources Business

Since the Group has set up its resources division, it has been exploring and expanding into resources business with great potentials and applications in various industries in China and other regions. We started with midstream business in the resources industry and our first project is related to rare earth refinery and processing business in China. It is conducted through 冕寧縣茂源稀土科技有限公司 (Mianning Mao Yuan Rare Earth Technology Company Limited*), a 54% owned subsidiary of the Group, which operates a major rare earth refinery and processing plant situated in Mianning, Sichuan province.

As discussed in the Company's interim report for the six months period ended 30 September 2012, due to a change in the market situation e.g. price drop, decrease in demand, PRC government policies controlling the supply of rare earth raw materials etc., particularly since August 2012, the whole rare earth industry has been disrupted. In view of the abrupt worsening of the business environment, and the uncertain timing of a recovery of the demand for rare earth products, the Group took a prudent approach to procure less rare earth raw materials and reduced its rare earth oxides production. The Group also prudently reviewed the asset value of the business and recognised an impairment loss on intangible asset of the rare earth refinery and processing business which amounted to HK$82,346,000 (2012: HK$Nil).

Currently, the demand and price of rare earth products still remain low and the prospects of the rare earth market is an uncertainty. In view of this, the Group started to rationalize the resources business by considering the possibilities of restructuring the rare earth refinery and processing business, and made a plan to sell a group of subsidiaries that engaged in the rare earth refinery and processing business if the assets value would be better reflected by such a sale transaction rather than through continuing use. The Group is actively seeking buyers for the said business. As such, the rare earth refinery and processing business is reclassified as assets and liabilities held for sale and the details are presented under the heading “Assets/ liabilities classified as held for sale” in the Group's consolidated financial statements in accordance with the Hong Kong Financial Reporting Standards.

Meanwhile, the Group has been actively exploring into different opportunities related to value chain of resources from upstream, midstream to downstream. A number of potential resources projects have been assessed and various studies on these potential projects were made. The resources division will continue to evaluate the viability and economics of these potential projects. We hope that through these evaluations, the Group will be able to identify and develop suitable resources projects which generate profitable return to the shareholders.

For the financial year under review, turnover from the Group's resources business amounted to HK$34,536,000 (2012: HK$6,000). The segment reported a loss of HK$152,072,000 (2012: HK$25,787,000), after the recognition of an impairment loss on and amortisation of intangible asset of the rare earth refinery and processing business which in total amounted to HK$132,710,000 (2012: HK$13,537,000).

Other Operation

During the year under review, Hong Kong stock markets remained volatile amid sluggish global economies. Due to both unrealised and realised gains on equity investments held for trading, the securities trading and investment business reported a profit of HK$3,076,000 (2012: HK$14,999,000).

Business Outlook - For the year ended March 31, 2013

The global economic condition has shown signs of improvement but remains weak. The economy of the United States has been growing slowly while the risk of the Euro zone debt crisis is not over yet. The Chinese economy also sees some modest growth although the momentum of recovery has been slow. Domestic demand remains sluggish.

Property Business

Against the backdrop of a more stable policy environment in the real estate industry, new home sales in China have recovered since the second half of 2012, and the momentum should remain steady. As for non-residential property in China, the development of commercial properties, and property related to cultural and tourism development is getting mature which creates more opportunities for developers. The Group has always been devoting resources to land bank acquisitions in China and other regions for different types of property development. The Group continues to explore opportunities in property development and investment in China and other regions, to leverage on our expertise and experience in the property business, as well as to support the development of our other businesses.

Gamma Ray Irradiation Services

In view of sluggish Chinese demand and slow global economic recovery, demand for food irradiation and sterilization of medical devices using gamma ray technologies for export will likely be impacted in the near term. However, higher domestic food and drug hygiene standard and safety requirements and the government's commitment to enforce related regulations should encourage domestic food and drug manufactures to adopt gamma ray irradiation in sterilization. In order to cater for the sustainable growth of gamma ray irradiation services in China, the Group plans to expand its services to products with high margins, such as health food, drugs and chemicals, as well as to provinces such as Henan, Hebei and Jiangsu. The Group will also increase its marketing efforts, including conducting more seminars to food and drug safety bureau, and food and drug enterprises in China, to increase potential domestic customers awareness of gamma ray irradiation applications, with a view to expand domestic customer base. In addition, the Group will continue to enhance its technology to strengthen our competitive position. The Group believes that its gamma ray irradiation business would benefit from the remarkable growth of food and drug industry in the long term.

Resources Business

Since the establishment of our resources division, the Group has been exploring different opportunities related to value chain of resources from upstream, midstream to downstream. The division strives for becoming one of the key players in upstream, midstream and downstream businesses and becoming a full vertically integrated player in the industry. While we are at an early stage in exploring into potential resources projects, a number of potential resources projects have been assessed and various studies on these potential projects were made. Our resources division will continue to evaluate the viability and economics of these potential projects. We hope that through this continuous review, the Group will be able to develop a suitable portfolio of resources business with stable and profitable return to the shareholders.

Source: China Gamma (00164) Annual Results Announcement
Chairman N/A Issued Capital (shares) 3,799M
Par Value HKD 0.01 Market Capitalisation (HKD) 391M
 
Login
Password
Register  Forget Password
Advanced Search
© 2021 The Standard, The Standard Newspapers Publishing Ltd.
Home | Business | Metro | Focus | Opinion | Markets | World | Sports | Entertainment | Monday Money | Property | Macau | Weekend

2020年11月27日星期五
 
專家論市
Martin Hennecke
 
中國伽瑪
HKEx 股份編號 : 00164 
 
公司簡介
集團重點發展稀有及策略性資源業務,此業務將成為集團未來的主要核心業務。集團的其他業務包括伽瑪射線照射服務、物業發展、租賃及銷售、建築材料貿易及提供裝修服務及證券買賣及投資。

業務回顧 - 截至2013年03月31日止年度

物業業務

本集團之物業業務包括物業發展、租賃及銷售以及建築材料貿易及提供裝修服務。

誠如本公司二零一二年中期報告所論述,近年中國物業市場增長放緩。鑑於市況不明朗,本集團於二零一二年八月把握機會,出售其位於中國重慶市之發展中物業。有關出售變現所得款項總額人民幣35,000,000元(相當於約42,840,000港元)及確認收益約1,656,000港元。

本集團之物業業務產生之所得款項總額為50,886,000港元(二零一二年:17,316,000港元),包括出售於中國持有物業之附屬公司之所得款項、物業發展、租賃及銷售以及建築材料貿易及提供裝修服務之營業額,於年內分別約為42,840,000港元、8,018,000港元及28,000港元(二零一二年:零港元、16,450,000港元及866,000港元)。物業發展、租賃及銷售之分部虧損收窄至2,185,000港元(二零一二年(經重列):6,345,000港元),而建築材料貿易及提供裝修服務之虧損為774,000港元(二零一二年:392,000港元)。

伽瑪射線照射服務

伽瑪射線照射在食品低溫殺菌及醫療產品消毒上已獲證實為一種有效方法。本集團之伽瑪射線照射業務乃透過本集團擁有80%權益之附屬公司淄博利源高科輻照技術有限公司進行,該公司已獲中國環境保護部發出許可證,可應用伽瑪射線技術提供照射服務。於本財政年度,伽瑪射線照射服務之營業額為5,941,000港元(二零一二年:9,404,000港元)。此分部錄得虧損2,515,000港元(二零一二年:溢利1,080,000港元)。回顧本財政年度,在市場需求疲弱之情況下,競爭加劇導致利潤率下降,影響業務之營運表現。因此,本集團已於年內加大營銷力度,包括舉行更多講座,以擴大客戶基礎。儘管短期內可能出現溫和競爭,惟本集團相信此行業長遠而言將取得可持續增長。

資源業務

本集團自成立資源部門以來,一直於中國及其他地區探尋及拓展具有龐大發展潛力及於多個行業中有重要應用之資源業務。本集團資源業務始於資源行業中游業務,其首個項目與中國之稀土深加工業務有關。該項目乃透過本集團擁有54%權益之附屬公司冕寧縣茂源稀土科技有限公司進行,該附屬公司於四川省冕寧縣經營一家大型稀土深加工廠。

誠如本公司於截至二零一二年九月三十日止六個月期間之中期報告所論述,市況(尤其是自二零一二年八月起)出現變動(例如價格下跌、需求減少、稀土原材料供應受中國政府政策管制等),令整個稀土行業產生亂象。鑑於營商環境突然惡化及稀土產品需求回升時間尚未明朗,本集團採取審慎態度,減少採購稀土原材料並減少生產稀土氧化物。本集團亦審慎評估稀土深加工業務之資產值,並就該業務確認無形資產之減值虧損82,346,000港元(二零一二年:零港元)。

目前,稀土產品之需求及價格仍然低企,而且現時稀土市場前景未見明朗。有鑑於此,本集團開始考慮重組稀土深加工業務之可能性,以期精簡資源業務,並計劃在出售交易較持續使用能更佳地反映資產值之情況下,出售該等從事稀土深加工業務之附屬公司。本集團現正積極為上述業務尋求買家。因此,稀土深加工業務已根據香港財務報告準則重新分類為持作出售之資產及負債,詳情於本集團綜合財務報表「分類為持作出售之資產╱負債」呈列。

與此同時,本集團一直積極探索與上游、中游以至下游資源產業鏈相關之不同機會。本集團已評估多個潛在資源項目,並對此等潛在項目進行不同研究。資源部門將繼續評估此等潛在項目之可行性及經濟價值。本集團希望透過此等評估,將能識別及發展出適合之資源項目,藉此為股東帶來回報。

回顧本財政年度,本集團資源業務之營業額為34,536,000港元(二零一二年:6,000港元)。就稀土深加工業務確認無形資產之減值虧損及攤銷合共132,710,000港元(二零一二年:13,537,000港元)後,該分部錄得虧損152,072,000港元(二零一二年:25,787,000港元)。

其他業務

回顧本年度,香港股票市場在全球經濟低迷下仍然動盪不穩。由於持作買賣股權投資產生未變現及已變現收益,故證券買賣及投資業務錄得溢利3,076,000港元(二零一二年:14,999,000港元)。

業務展望 - 截至2013年03月31日止年度

環球經濟狀況呈現改善跡象,惟仍然疲弱。美國經濟增長緩慢,同時,歐元區債務危機風險仍然存在。中國經濟稍見溫和增長,然而復甦動力未足。內需繼續不振。

物業業務

在房地產行業政策日趨穩定之環境下,中國新屋銷售量自二零一二年下半年起回升,動力應可保持平穩。而中國非住宅物業方面,商用物業及文化旅遊發展相關物業發展更形成熟,為發展商製造更多機會。本集團一直致力投放資源在中國及其他地區收購土地儲備,以供不同類型物業發展之用。本集團繼續在中國及其他地區發掘物業發展及投資機會,以充分利用本集團在物業業務方面之專業知識及經驗,並支持其他業務發展。

伽瑪射線照射服務

鑑於中國需求疲弱及全球經濟復甦緩慢,利用伽瑪射線技術為出口食品照射及醫療設備消毒之需求短期內很可能受到影響。然而,國內食品及藥品衛生標準及安全要求提高,加上政府致力實施相關法規,應可鼓勵國內食品及藥品生產商採用伽瑪射線照射消毒。為配合伽瑪射線照射服務於中國之持續增長,本集團計劃將服務擴展至高毛利產品(包括健康食品、藥品及化學品),並拓展至河南、河北及江蘇各省。本集團亦將加大營銷力度,包括為食品藥品安全局及中國食品及藥品企業舉行更多講座,以提高潛在國內客戶對伽瑪射線照射應用之認識,從而擴大國內客戶基礎。此外,本集團將繼續提升其技術,以增強競爭優勢。本集團相信,長遠而言,其伽瑪射線照射業務將受惠於食品及藥品行業之顯著增長。

資源業務

本集團自成立資源部門後,一直探索與上游、中游以至下游資源產業鏈相關之不同機會。此部門致力成為上游、中游及下游業務之主要參與者之一,以及成為完全垂直整合之業者。儘管本集團現時處於探求潛在資源項目之初期,惟已評估多個潛在資源項目,並對此等潛在項目進行不同研究。本集團之資源部門將繼續評估此等潛在項目之可行性及經濟價值。本集團希望透過持續檢討,將能發展出適合資源業務之投資組合,並藉此為股東帶來回報。

資料來源: 中國伽瑪 (00164) 全年業績公告
集團主席 不適用 發行股本(股) 3,799M
票面值 港元 0.01 市價總值 (港元) 391M
 
登入名稱
密碼
新用戶注冊   忘記密碼
進階搜尋
© 2020 The Standard, The Standard Newspapers Publishing Ltd.
Home | Business | Metro | Focus | Opinion | Markets | World | Sports | Entertainment | Monday Money | Property | Macau | Weekend