Thursday, October 29, 2020
 
Columnist
Martin Hennecke
 
LUK FOOK HOLD
HKEx Stock Code : 00590 
 
Corporate Profile
Principally engaged in the sourcing, designing, wholesaling and retailing of a variety of platinum and gold jewelleries and gold ornaments, gem-set jewelleries, jadeites, gemstones and other accessory items.

Business Review - For the year ended March 31, 2013

Hong Kong and Macau

Hong Kong remained the key market for Lukfook, contributing 65.0% (2012: 69.5%) of the Group's total revenue amounting to HK$8,715,955,000 (2012: HK$8,278,475,000). This represented a growth of 5.3%. As at 31 March 2013, the Group operated a total of 37 (2012: 32) retail outlets in Hong Kong including a net increase of five new outlets in the year under review.

Mainland Chinese visitors continued to be the primary customers for the Hong Kong retail business, contributing around 60% of the Group's retail sales in this market. According to the Hong Kong Tourism Board, arrivals from Mainland China reached 34.9 million in 2012, representing an annual growth of 24.2%. In the first quarter of 2013, Mainland arrivals grew by 13.8%. Tourism-related sales revenue was driven mainly by the increasing number of middle-class Mainland tourists. Moreover, the continued appreciation of the Renminbi and the absence of value-added tax provided positive travel sentiment and strong demand for luxury products, both of which boosted local retail sales.

Macau tourism has also been booming as a result of the Individual Visit Scheme. In 2012 Mainland arrivals reached 17 million, representing an increase of 4.6% over the previous year. In Macau, the Group had 9 (2012: 6) self-operated outlets as at the end of March 2013. Revenue generated from the Macau market amounted to HK$1,751,000,000 (2012: HK$1,337,705,000), representing a spectacular growth rate of 30.9%.

The Group has been diversifying its product portfolio to provide customers with wider selection of choices. Since 2010, the Group has been taking advantage of new business opportunities from the mid to high-end watch market. As at 31 March 2013, the Group carried 23 watch brands, including BALL and its BALL for BMW series, BULOVA,CERTINA, COINWATCH, CORUM, DOXA, ENICAR, ERNEST BOREL, GRONELELD, H. MOSER & CIE, HAMILTON, HARRY WINSTON, LAMBORGHINI, LONGINES, LUDOVIC BALLOUARD, MAURICE LACROIX, MIDO, OMEGA, PHILIP STEIN, RADO, TAG HEUER, TISSOT and URWERK. For the year under review, the watch business contributed a revenue of HK$236,810,000 (2012: HK$202,554,000), representing 1.8% (2012: 1.7%) of the Group's total revenue with 16.9% growth over the last year.

In the past years, the Group generated publicity and enhanced its prestigious brand image by upgrading the stores' presentation and service, embarking upon extensive marketing campaigns, and executing a wide range of joint promotions, exhibitions and sponsorships, all of which achieved impressive results. The Group has also focused on identifying potential development opportunities and reviewing all aspects of its infrastructure to ensure that Lukfook remains an attractive brand to customers, and these efforts continued throughout the year under review.

Mainland China

The Group continued to benefit from the fast expansion in Mainland China during the year. Revenue from Mainland China amounted to HK$2,841,582,000 (2012: HK$2,204,624,000), which represented 21.2% (2012: 18.5%) of the Group's total revenue and 28.9% growth over last year.

According to the World Gold Council, over 75% of all urban Chinese women now own more than one significant gold piece. The demand for gold and gold jewellery as investments or accessories continues to be strong in the Chinese community, especially in Mainland China, where there has been positive economic development and increasing prosperity over the past decade. During the year, the Group strove to further penetrate the Mainland Chinese market and expand its footprint from first-tier cities to lower-tier cities. This was evidenced by the 78 self-operating outlets and 944 licensed outlets under its domain, of which 17 and 186, respectively, were newly opened.

Overseas Development

Adhering to its motto ˇ§Brand of Hong Kong, Sparkling the Worldˇ¨, Lukfook has been expanding in the Southeast Asian market, Canada and the United States. During the year under review, the Group operated four overseas outlets, including one in Singapore, two in the United States and one in Canada. In January 2013, it renovated and expanded its store in New York, doubling the gross floor area. The new shop offers a warm and cosy environment for customers, providing the most enjoyable shopping experience possible.

Business Outlook - For the year ended March 31, 2013

The Group will take a cautious approach in light of global economic uncertainties and its effects on the jewellery industry. The Group believes that Mainland China remains a promising market in the long run because of the increasing disposable income, a rapid urbanisation rate and government policies favouring domestic consumption. However, the sluggish global economic recovery and slowing economic growth in Mainland China may pose a potential threat to the industry in the near future.

Nevertheless, in order to capture the vast market potential in Mainland China, the Group will expand its retail network mainly by the licensing model in third- and lower-tier cities. In addition, opening flagship stores in prominent cities is one of our strategic moves to strengthen our market penetration there. Therefore, subsequent to 31 March 2013, the Group unveiled the establishment of a flagship store in Wuhan in May 2013. Lukfook will look to add approximately 200 new stores in the coming year mainly in the Mainland China market.

The Macau market has generated substantial profit contributions for the Group. With stable tourism arrivals, a new flagship store which was the Group's largest store worldwide located at Avenida de Almeida Ribeiro was opened in June 2013. The Group aims to open more stores in casinos and resorts to efficiently reach our target customers. In Hong Kong, our major geographic profit contributor for the retail business, rising rental costs continues to pose a challenge to the Group's operating costs, but it is expected to ease with the slowing economy in the near future. In response, the Group will expand its network along high-traffic railway stations, striving to maintain rental costs at reasonable levels and searching for opportunities in prime locations as appropriate.

With locations in Singapore, the United States and Canada, the brand continues to gain exposure in overseas markets. The Group will also seek new locations in attractive markets, both new and existing, to further establish its global footprint.

The international gold price is likely to continue fluctuating, and may strongly influence demand for gold. Recently in April and May 2013, due to a slump in the international gold price, there was an influx of gold buyers in Hong Kong, Macau and Mainland China, boosting the demand for gold products and particularly gold wedding items. As a result, in April and May 2013, despite the decrease in gross margin, the increase in sales volume has led to a sizable gross profit growth in gold products. In addition, up-selling of gem-set products also helped generate double digit growth in their respective sales.

To boost productivity, operating efficiency and management skills and to provide quality staff training on product knowledge, sales skills and customer service, the Group expanded its regional offices in Beijing, Shanghai, Wuhan and Nansha as well as its administrative office in Shenzhen during the past two years. The Group believes that doing so will help enhance quality of human capital of both our self operated shops and licensed shops. All these will also support store openings in Mainland China and ensure sustainable development in long term.

To strengthen its brand image, the Group will continue to leverage traditional and emerging mass media advertising. Another effective means of promoting the Lukfook brand is through our own stores. Following the opening of flagship stores in Wuhan and Macau, the Group will implement a similar strategy and continue to identify suitable locations in prominent cities to establish additional flagship stores.

Another initiative is optimising the Group's product mix to improve overall margins. As gemset jewellery products enjoy higher gross margin than gold and platinum products, the Group will put greater effort into enhancing sales of such products via various initiatives and crossselling promotions.

Looking ahead, on-going global economic uncertainties could make 2014 a challenging year. Therefore, the Group will remain vigilant, and continue to implement its business strategy as planned while actively responding to market challenges and opportunities. The Group believes its competitive strengths will continue to secure market share and strengthen its leading position in the international jewellery retail market.

Source: Luk Fook Hold (00590) Annual Results Announcement
Chairman WONG Wai Sheung Issued Capital (shares) 589M
Par Value HKD 0.1 Market Capitalisation (HKD) 13,255M
 
Login
Password
Register  Forget Password
Advanced Search
© 2020 The Standard, The Standard Newspapers Publishing Ltd.
Home | Business | Metro | Focus | Opinion | Markets | World | Sports | Entertainment | Monday Money | Property | Macau | Weekend

2020年11月30日星期一
 
專家論市
Martin Hennecke
 
六福集團
HKEx 股份編號 : 00590 
 
公司簡介
主要從事各類黃鉑金首飾、黃金裝飾品、鑲石首飾、翡翠、寶石及其他配飾之採購、設計、批發及零售業務。

業務回顧 - 截至2013年03月31日止年度

香港及澳門

香港繼續為六福的主要市場,佔本集團總收入65.0%(2012年:69.5%),上升5.3%至8,715,955,000港元(2012年:8,278,475,000港元)。於2013年3月31日,本集團在香港經營合共37間(2012年:32間)零售店,包括於回顧年度內淨增加的五間新店。

中國內地旅客繼續為香港零售業務的主要顧客,佔本集團於本港市場零售銷售額約60%。根據香港旅遊發展局的資料,2012年訪港的中國內地旅客按年增加24.2%至34,900,000人次。內地旅客人次於2013年第一季度增加13.8%。旅遊相關銷售收入主要乃由於內地中產旅客人數上升所致,加上人民幣持續升值以及免繳增值稅令出遊意慾及對奢侈品的需求大增,有助推高本地零售銷售額。

「個人遊」亦帶旺澳門旅遊業。於2012年,訪澳內地旅客人次較去年增加4.6%,達17,000,000人次。於2013年3月底,本集團在澳門有9間(2012年:6間)自營店。來自澳門市場的收入顯著增長30.9%,達1,751,000,000港元(2012年:1,337,705,000港元)。

本集團積極拓寬其產品組合,為顧客提供更多元化的選擇。自2010年起,本集團已抓緊中高檔鐘錶市場的新商機。於2013年3月31日,本集團售賣23個鐘錶品牌,包括波爾及其「波爾寶馬時計」系列、寶路華、雪鐵納、科因沃奇、崑崙、時度、英納格、依波路、GRONELELD、亨利慕時、漢米爾頓、海瑞溫斯頓、林寶堅尼、浪琴、LUDOVICBALLOUARD、艾美、美度、歐米茄、翡麗詩丹、雷達、豪雅、天梭及和域。於回顧年度內,來自鐘錶業務的收入為236,810,000港元(2012年:202,554,000港元),佔本集團總收入1.8%(2012年:1.7%),較去年上升16.9%。

過往年間,本集團透過提升店舖裝潢及服務、舉辦不同類型的市場推廣活動及聯合推廣、展覽會及贊助活動,宣傳及優化其尊貴品牌形象。同時,本集團於回顧年度內貫徹始終,專注於物色潛在發展機遇及檢討各項基建,以確保六福品牌繼續廣受顧客歡迎。

中國內地

年內,本集團繼續受惠於在中國內地之快速擴展,來自中國內地的收入達2,841,582,000港元(2012年:2,204,624,000港元),佔本集團總收入21.2%(2012年:18.5%),較去年上升28.9%。

根據世界黃金協會的資料,中國超過75%都市女性現時擁有多於一件名貴金飾。華人社區對黃金及黃金珠寶的投資或配飾需求持續向好,尤其是於過去十年錄得經濟增長及都市日趨繁榮的中國內地。年內,本集團旗下78間自營店及944間品牌店中分別有17間及186間為新開設分店,可見本集團致力進一步進軍中國內地市場及將其覆蓋範圍由一線城市拓展至較次級城市。

海外發展

秉承著「香港名牌國際演繹」的宗旨,六福過去一直於東南亞、加拿大及美國市場擴張。於回顧年度內,本集團經營四間海外店舖,包括一間位於新加坡、兩間位於美國以及一間位於加拿大的店舖。於2013年1月,本集團重新裝修及擴充於紐約的店舖,其總樓面面積提升一倍。新店為顧客提供舒適愜意的環境及賓至如歸的購物體驗。

業務展望 - 截至2013年03月31日止年度

鑑於環球經濟不明朗因素及其對珠寶行業的影響,本集團將持審慎態度。本集團相信,隨著中國國民可支配收入增加、城市化快速發展及政府推出有利本土消費的政策,中國內地市場長遠來說仍具備豐厚潛力。然而,環球經濟復甦緩慢及中國內地經濟放緩,短期內或許對行業構成潛在威脅。

然而,為捕捉中國內地之龐大市場潛力,本集團將以品牌店模式為主於三線及較次級城市拓展其零售網絡。此外,於主要城市開設旗艦店為本集團用以深化我們於此市場滲透率的其中一個策略部署。所以,於2013年3月31日後,本集團於2013年5月在武漢開設旗艦店。六福來年將致力於主要在中國內地市場增設約200間新店舖。

澳門市場為本集團貢獻可觀溢利。在旅客人次穩定的情況下,本集團位於新馬路的新旗艦店(本集團全球最大的店舖)於2013年6月開業。本集團計劃於賭場及度假村開設更多分店,以有效接觸目標顧客。在本集團零售業務的主要溢利來源地香港,我們的經營成本持續受租金成本上漲影響,惟短期內經濟減弱,租金上升可望放緩,故本集團將於人流旺盛的鐵路站沿線擴展其網絡,以將租金成本維持於合理水平,並於適當的黃金地段尋找商機。

本集團於新加坡、美國及加拿大開設分店,並持續於海外市場提升品牌知名度。本集團亦將於具潛力的新市場及現有市場物色新商機,以將其覆蓋範圍進一步擴大至全球。

國際金價暴跌,香港、澳門及中國內地的黃金買家蜂湧而至,導致黃金產品(尤其是婚嫁黃金產品)的需求飆升。因此,於2013年4月及5月,儘管毛利率下跌,惟銷量增加令黃金產品的毛利大幅上升。此外,在交叉銷售推廣下,鑽石產品銷量上升亦帶動其銷售額的雙位數增長。

為提升生產力、營運效率及管理技能,並為員工提供有關產品知識、銷售技巧及客戶服務的優質培訓課程,本集團於過去兩年擴充於北京、上海、武漢及南沙的分區行政中心以及於深圳的行政中心。本集團深信,此舉有助提升自營店及品牌店的員工質素,更可支援其於中國內地設立分店,並確保長遠的可持續發展。

本集團將繼續借助傳統及新興媒體廣告宣傳提升其品牌形象。開設新店亦為推廣六福品牌的另一有效途徑。隨著於武漢及澳門旗艦店的開業,本集團將以此策略繼續於主要城市物色適當位置開設旗艦店。

本集團亦同時致力完善本集團的產品組合,以提高整體利潤率。由於鑽石首飾產品較黃金及鉑金產品享有較高毛利率,本集團將投放更多精力透過各項措施及交叉銷售促銷活動加強銷售有關產品。

展望未來,全球經濟環境持續不明朗將為2014年帶來重重挑戰。因此,本集團將保持警覺,並於積極應對市場挑戰及機遇的同時,繼續實施其既定業務策略。本集團相信,其競爭優勢將有助繼續提升市場份額及鞏固本集團於國際珠寶零售市場的龍頭地位。

資料來源: 六福集團 (00590) 全年業績公告
集團主席 黃偉常 發行股本(股) 589M
票面值 港元 0.1 市價總值 (港元) 13,255M
 
登入名稱
密碼
新用戶注冊   忘記密碼
進階搜尋
© 2020 The Standard, The Standard Newspapers Publishing Ltd.
Home | Business | Metro | Focus | Opinion | Markets | World | Sports | Entertainment | Monday Money | Property | Macau | Weekend