Monday, March 1, 2021
 
Columnist
Martin Hennecke
 
NEWTON RES
HKEx Stock Code : 01231 
 
Corporate Profile
The group is involved in mining; ore processing; and sale of iron concentrate.

Business Review - For the year ended December 31, 2012

Iron Concentrate Business

The Group's commercial production of iron concentrates regrettably came to a standstill in 2012.

During the Reporting Period, the Group has been focusing its resources and manpower on the construction and accomplishment of the New Tailings Storage Facility, which has been substantially completed by June 2012. Then, the Group proceeds with the application for trial tailings discharge with the Safety Authority. In the meantime, the Group is following up on further enhancing the safety features of the New Tailings Storage Facility, progress update on trial tailings discharge, and the issuance of a production safety permit by the Safety Authority.

Despite the progress achieved on the construction of New Tailings Storage Facility, a number of mid-level management staff and subordinates in the Yanjiazhuang Mine have not turned up for work since July 2012. This has hindered our schedule to resume the iron concentrate production. The Group has now terminated the employment relationship with these staff members and have been taking prompt recruitment action to fill up the vacancies.

The Group resumed the stripping activities and started commissioning of the No.1 dry magnetic cobbing system and the No.1 processing facility, and trial production of a limited scale at the Yanjiazhuang Mine around the end of November 2012. However, no revenue was recognised for FY 2012. The Group will continue to monitor the progress of trial production and tackle any upcoming challenges, through active communication with relevant authorities and parties, to smooth out its production and operations at the Yanjiazhuang Mine.

Meanwhile, the Group is in the process of applying for a production safety permit for the New Tailings Storage Facility. Once the Safety Authority is satisfied with the conditions for tailings discharge, it will issue a production safety permit to the Group. The Board expects that the mining and iron concentrate production at the Yanjiazhuang Mine will gradually resume to normal thereafter.

In 2011, the Group produced and sold 46,900 tonnes of iron concentrates and generated approximately RMB45.9 million in sales revenue. The average selling price of its iron concentrates, net of value-added tax, was approximately RMB979 per tonne, with its average iron concentrate grade of approximately 65%, for the said year.

Currently, the Group has accomplished the Phase One expansion plan. However, the Phase Two and Phase Three expansion plans were regrettably hindered by disputes arising from land expropriation. During FY 2012, the remaining construction projects remain uncompleted. For further details, please refer to the paragraphs headed ¡§Iron Concentrate Business ¡V Phase Two and Phase Three Expansion Plans and Anciliary Constructions¡¨ in ¡§Capital Expenditure and Infrastructure Development¡¨ section.

Gabbro-Diabase Business

Throughout FY 2012, the Group has been actively preparing for the gabbro-diabase mining at the Yanjiazhuang Mine, and had made good progress in site formation and stripping and preparation works at the First Quarry, and the access road to the First Quarry had been constructed. On the other hand, the Group engaged a Beijing-based stone mining specialty advisor in early 2012, which has a team of reputable stone mining experts, to provide the Group with technical supports and consultancy guidance in respect of the gabbro-diabase mining plan and production. For the gabbro-diabase infrastructure construction carried out during FY 2012, further discussion will be provided in the paragraphs headed ¡§Gabbro-Diabase Business¡¨ in ¡§Capital Expenditure and Infrastructure Development¡¨ section.

Apart from the mining plan and progress in infrastructure construction, the Group also received the mining and other requisite permits during the year. The Group received a mining permit for diabase resources in June 2012 from Hebei Province Department of Land and Resources and was also granted the business license for the production and sale of diabase products by the domestic Industrial and Commercial Administration Bureau. The Group is currently in the process of applying for a production safety permit from the Safety Authority. The Board anticipates that the Group could commence normal production of gabbro-diabase products sometime in 2013, with the remaining requisite permit issued by the Safety Authority.

From the marketing perspective, the Group has continued to participate in recognised stone industry exhibitions to promote its gabbro-diabase products, aiming to create corporate branding and establish customer network.

As the Group had not yet started the commercial mining and production of gabbro-diabase resources during the Reporting Period, no revenue was recognised for FY 2012.

Business Outlook - For the year ended December 31, 2012

There remains great uncertainty in global economic outlook for 2013, but positive signs are emerging. In Mainland China, further economic transformation, infrastructure projects, and the stimulus spending and measures by the PRC government to stablise economic growth will support the demands for iron concentrates and are expected to have a positive impact on helping the iron mines and steel mills to step out of the difficult year 2012. It could be anticipated that the demand for iron concentrates will benefit from capital spending plans including building of roads, subways, and extra spending on railways approved by the PRC government.

During the Reporting Period, the Group completed the New Tailings Storage Facility, and commenced the stripping and mining activities at the Yanjiazhuang Mine. However, the construction of Phase Two and Phase Three expansion plans was still hindered by the disputes arising from land expropriation and other issues. In 2013, the Group anticipates that there could still be a number of uncertainties, issues and challenges that will affect its operating and external environments. As a socially responsible company, the Group will continue to actively communicate with government and villages in an orderly manner according to laws and regulations to resolve future difference, and will continue to devote its every effort to smooth out the external issues and land expropriation disputes as may arise at the Yanjiazhuang Mine. Also, the Group will gradually proceed with the remaining construction of Phase Two expansion plan in 2013 to cope with the development of iron concentrate business and to enhance the iron concentrate production at the Yanjiazhuang Mine as early as we can.

The Group is actively following up with the Safety Authority for the issue of a production safety permit for gabbro-diabase mining, which is anticipated to be granted in 2013. The Board expects that the mining and production of gabbro-diabase resources could be commenced upon the permit is granted, and the gabbrodiabase business will be gradually ramped up to a commercial scale and contribute to the Group's success in the long run.

In November 2012, Shougang Hong Kong became a Substantial Shareholder and the second largest Shareholder of the Company. As part of our strategy to augment our undertakings at the Yanjiazhuang Mine, the Group is currently in discussions with Shougang Hong Kong to further explore areas of cooperation and development, which is believed to bring in positive initiatives for the Group's business development.

Source: Newton Resources (01231) Annual Results Announcement
Chairman Cheng Kar Shun Issued Capital (shares) 4,000M
Par Value HKD 0.1 Market Capitalisation (HKD) 2,600M
 
Login
Password
Register  Forget Password
Advanced Search
© 2021 The Standard, The Standard Newspapers Publishing Ltd.
Home | Business | Metro | Focus | Opinion | Markets | World | Sports | Entertainment | Monday Money | Property | Macau | Weekend

2022年10月3日星期一
 
專家論市
Martin Hennecke
 
新礦資源
HKEx 股份編號 : 01231 
 
公司簡介
主要業務為採礦、礦石洗選、及鐵精粉銷售。

業務回顧 - 截至2012年12月31日止年度

鐵精粉業務

於2012年,令人遺憾的是,本集團鐵精粉商業生產處於停頓狀態。

於報告期間,本集團集中資源和人力推進新尾礦庫的建設與配備,並於2012年6月完成大部份工程。隨後本集團著手向安全部門提交試排尾的申請。同時,本集團現正就進一步提升新尾礦庫的安全特性、試排尾的最新進展及安全部門頒發安全生產許可證事宜。

儘管新尾礦庫的建設已取得進展,然而自2012年7月起,一些閆家莊鐵礦的中層管理人員及下屬擅自離開工作崗位,此事已阻礙恢復鐵精粉生產的計劃。本集團已與該等員工解除僱傭關係,並及時展開招聘活動以迅速填補空缺職位。

於2012年11月底左右,本集團恢復剝採活動並開始試運1號乾磁分選系統及1號洗選設施,並於閆家莊鐵礦進行有限規模試產。然而,2012年財政年度並無確認任何收入。本集團將繼續監察試產的進展,克服任何面臨的困難,透過與有關政府部門及人士積極溝通,以使閆家莊鐵礦生產營運更順暢。

以此同時,本集團現正為新尾礦庫申請安全生產許可證。當安全部門對排尾情況表示滿意,便向本集團頒發安全生產許可證。董事會預期,閆家莊鐵礦的採礦及鐵精粉生產將稍後逐漸恢復正常。

於2011年,本集團生產及銷售鐵精粉46,900噸,錄得銷售收入約為人民幣45.9百萬元。於該年鐵精粉每噸平均售價(扣除增值稅)約人民幣979元,鐵精粉平均品位約65%。

目前,本集團已完成第一階段擴展計劃。然而遺憾的是,第二及第三階段擴展計劃由於徵地糾紛事件的影響而受阻。於2012年財政年度,剩餘工程仍然處於停頓狀態。有關詳情,請參閱「資本性支出及基建發展」一節中的「鐵精粉業務—第二及第三階段擴展計劃及附屬設施」。

輝綠岩業務

於2012年財政年度,本集團積極籌備閆家莊鐵礦的輝綠岩開採工作,並於首採區的地盤平整、剝岩及籌備工作方面取得良好進展,而通往首採區的道路經已建成。另一方面,本集團於2012年初聘用北京石材開採專業諮詢公司,該公司擁有一支知名的石材開採專家團隊,為本集團輝綠岩的開採方案和生產提供技術支援及諮詢指導。有關於2012年財政年度進行的輝綠岩基建興建狀況,「資本性出及基建發展」一節中的「輝綠岩業務」一段作進一步的討論說明。

除開採計劃和基建進展外,本集團於年內亦已獲取採礦及其他所需許可證。本集團於2012年6月取得河北省國土資源廳頒發的就開採輝綠岩資源之採礦許可證,並獲授當地工商行政管理局頒發的生產和銷售輝綠岩產品的營業執照。本集團目前現正向安全部門申請安全生產許可證中。董事會預期本集團於可2013年內開始正常生產輝綠岩產品,而安全部門將會頒發餘下所需的許可證。

就市場營銷角度而言,本集團繼續參展知名的石材業界展覽會,推廣本集團的輝綠岩產品,務求打造企業品牌及建立客戶網絡。

由於本集團於報告期間內尚未開始輝綠岩資源的商業開採與生產,故2012年財政年度內並無確認任何收入。

業務展望 - 截至2012年12月31日止年度

2013年全球經濟復蘇仍然具有較大的不確定性,但向好的跡象已經呈現。在中國內地,經濟進一步轉型,中國政府推出的基建項目及刺激方案穩保經濟增長,這將會支持鐵精粉需求,且預期對鐵礦場及鋼鐵廠步出2012年困境產生正面影響。預期鐵精粉之需求將受益於中國政府所批准的資本開支計劃,包括興建公路、地鐵以及增大鐵路建設投入。

於報告期間內,本集團新尾礦庫工程已竣工完成,並於閆家莊鐵礦開始剝採及採礦活動。然而,第二及第三階段擴展計劃因遭遇徵地及其他事件引起的一系列糾紛事件,進程仍受到延誤。2013年,本集團預期在礦山營運及外部環境仍然面臨著諸多不決定之因素、問題和嚴峻的挑戰。本集團作為一間對社會負責任的公司,將繼續依照國家法律和法規,積極有序地與當地政府及當地村民進行溝通,以解決未來異見,並集中全力解決閆家莊鐵礦可能產生之外部問題及征地糾紛問題。同時,本集團將盡一切努力使第二階段擴展計劃之建設於2013年平穩推進及完成剩餘工程,同時使閆家莊鐵礦鐵精粉業務的進行亦儘早恢復以提高鐵精粉產量。

本集團正積極與安全部門跟進有關輝綠岩開採之安全生產許可證的簽發,並有望在2013年批出。董事會預期輝綠岩之開採及生產能在該證件批出後馬上開展,而輝綠岩業務之逐步加大生產力度至具經濟效益規模,將為本集團之長遠成功作出貢獻。

2012年11月,首鋼香港成為本公司主要股東及第二大主要股東。作為擴大閆家莊鐵礦業務戰略的一部分,本集團現正與首鋼香港討論進一步合作與發展事宜,相信此舉可為本集團業務發展帶來積極動力。

資料來源: 新礦資源 (01231) 全年業績公告
集團主席 鄭家純 發行股本(股) 4,000M
票面值 港元 0.1 市價總值 (港元) 2,600M
 
登入名稱
密碼
新用戶注冊   忘記密碼
進階搜尋
© 2022 The Standard, The Standard Newspapers Publishing Ltd.
Home | Business | Metro | Focus | Opinion | Markets | World | Sports | Entertainment | Monday Money | Property | Macau | Weekend