Monday, November 30, 2020
 
Columnist
Martin Hennecke
 
JIANGNAN GP
HKEx Stock Code : 01366 
 
Corporate Profile
The Group is one of the largest manufacturers of wires and cables for power transmission, distribution systems and electrical equipment in China. The Group's products are widely used in power and other general industries, including metals and mining, oil and gas, transportation, shipbuilding, construction and others.

Business Review - For the year ended December 31, 2012

In 2012, the change of global economy has its complicated and profound influence worldwide. Countries are all facing new challenges as well as opportunities of reversing the economic decline. In early 2012, the global economy started with the on-going downturn from 2011 and finally ended with a dramatic falling after months of slow recovery. As a whole, 2012 economic recovery was full of difficulties. International agencies like the United Nations, the World Bank and the International Monetary Fund reduced the economic growth estimates several times within 2012. Following 2008 and 2009, 2012 became the third one having the lowest economic growth during the last 10 years. The serious employment issues and debt problems spread out in various countries and regions of the world owing to the continued stagnant of the economic development which at the same time resulted in the increase in trade disputes and drastic fluctuation in commodity prices. Weak demand of major economies combined with further liquidity released by developed economies, the international financial market was going through a seldom turmoil. Developed countries struggled in the downturn of economic growth while the emerging economies also cannot get rid of a general slowdown. Investment and consumption fatigued so that the decline in international trade, the conflict and protectionism has surfaced.

China's economic development grew beyond expectation negatively. The third-quarter GDP falling to 7.4% was lower than the government proposed target of 7.5%. According to the cumulative value in parallel quarterly GDP, the economic growth rate was all the way down to 7.4% of the third quarter in 2012 from 11.2% of the second quarter in 2010. As the average economic growth rate between 2001 and 2010 was 10.5%, China's current one has been significantly lower than the average level in the past decade. But when the unexpected downturn appeared in the second and third quarters in China, there was no sign of large-scale unemployment and deflation. The consumption continued to rise, with the significant growth of investment in infrastructure construction and adjustment of real estate policy enabled the economic growth to rebound after reaching the lowest value in September 2012. Considering the political factor as the smooth staging of the 18th national congress of the central committee, and the sustained growth of consumption, China's economy returned to a recovery track in the fourth quarter of 2012.

Despite the adverse economic sentiment in 2012, the demand for wires and cables remained stable. This is due to the fact that wires and cables are widely used in multiple facets of the economy. They not only provide important support to various industries, national defense and significant construction projects, but also form the foundation for the functioning of modern economies and societies. China's increasing electricity consumption also supported a steady growth of the wire and cable industry in the past and for the future.

The Group's power cables continued to be the Group's key revenue contributor (accounted for approximately 69.1% of total revenue in 2012 and 66.2% in 2011) and its gross profit margin improved from approximately 15.9% in 2011 to approximately 17.1% in 2012. This was attributed to the increase in sales of higher-end products such as ultra-high voltage cables which had a higher gross profit margin than other power cable products.

Business Outlook - For the year ended December 31, 2012

The prospects for China's economy in 2013 will be full of variables under the complex international economic situation, but the Group has seen a glimmer of hope ahead. Although the slow growth of the world economy is inevitable, the recovery is expected to accelerate in 2013.

The Group operates in the wire and cable industry, which is the second largest industry after motor industry, representing one-fourth of the production capacity of the PRC electronic engineering industry and is considered to be the ¡§vascular¡¨ of the nation's economy. In recent years, as the Chinese economy keeps growing, the Chinese wire and cable industry also develops violently. At the end of the ¡§Eleventh Five-year¡¨ the national production value of the wire and cable industry reached RMB500 billion, the scale of industry was among the top in the world, and the overall standard of the products has also reached an advanced level around the globe. During the ¡§Twelfth Five-year¡¨ period, with the increase in capital investments in various sectors, it is expected that the wire and cable industry will maintain its rapid development and capture more market opportunity.

Wire and cable industry faces the opportunity of the new model of smart grid construction and the urbanisation of rural area of the PRC. Recently, the State Grid Corporation of China and the China Southern Power Grid announced transformation plan of the grid in rural area and investment budget during the ¡§Twelfth Five-year¡¨ period, they decided to implement the new phrase of transformation and upgrade project for the grid in rural area. State Grid Corporation of China will arrange RMB410 billion on the transformation of the grid in rural area, and the proposed amount of investment made by the China Southern Power Grid will be RMB111.6 billion, the total amount will be RMB521.6 billion. Based on this scale, the investment amount of the new phrase of transformation and upgrade project for the grid in rural area for the first three years will be more than RMB300 billion. As the transformation of grid in rural area goes further, wire and cable industry will enter into a new period of development. This will be a good opportunity and positive message for the electric wires production and selling enterprises which act as the major provider of the project for the grid in rural area.

Ultra high voltage grid network will be a vital investment direction and increment of the PRC grid during the ¡§Twelfth Five-year¡¨ period. According to the planning of the State Grid Corporation of China, in 2015, the ¡§Three China¡¨ ultra high voltage grid network will be established in Northern China, Middle China and Eastern China, forming the ¡§three vertical, three horizontal and one ring grid¡¨ network system. In the coming three years, the investment amount of ultra high voltage grid network can reach RMB270 billion, which is more than 13 times of the approximately RMB20 billion made in the ¡§Eleventh Five-year¡¨ period. This will provide enormous room for the development of the wire and cable industry. Large scale enterprises which have better branding effect, production capacity and technical know how in the PRC and with absolute competitive advantage in the industry will directly benefit from it.

Maximising the shareholders value has always been the development ideology of the Group. By capturing the forthcoming opportunities in economic recovery and the increase in infrastructure investments in China and emerging countries, it is expected that the Group will benefit from the change in momentum of the economy. The Group's new workshops for manufacturing aluminium alloy products and double capacity conductors have commenced commercial production and will deliver new revenue stream to the Group. Also the new production lines in South Africa will not only enhance the Group's production capacity but also strengthen the Group's presence in South Africa. The Group will also expand strategically on its overseas sales by targeting potential emerging countries. In China, apart from maintaining the Group's organic growth as in the past, the Group will seek for new opportunities that can bring in new product offerings, new technology and/or new customers to the Group by means of strategic investment or acquisition. Through both organic and nonorganic growth, the Group has confidence to further enhance its market share and maintain the Group's leading position in the industry.

Source: Jiangnan Group (01366) Annual Results Announcement
Chairman Rui Fubin Issued Capital (shares) 3,077M
Par Value HKD 0.01 Market Capitalisation (HKD) 4,000M
 
Login
Password
Register  Forget Password
Advanced Search
© 2020 The Standard, The Standard Newspapers Publishing Ltd.
Home | Business | Metro | Focus | Opinion | Markets | World | Sports | Entertainment | Monday Money | Property | Macau | Weekend

2021年4月13日星期二
 
專家論市
Martin Hennecke
 
江南集團
HKEx 股份編號 : 01366 
 
公司簡介
集團為中國最大的輸配電系統以及電器裝備用電線電纜製造商之一。集團的產品廣泛用於電力及其他一般行業,包括金屬及採礦、石油和天然氣、運輸、造船、建築及其他。

業務回顧 - 截至2012年12月31日止年度

2012年世界經濟的變化複雜而深刻,各個國家都面臨著新環境下的新機遇和逆轉經濟頹勢的新挑戰。2012年初,世界經濟持續2011年的低迷發展,緩慢復甦伊始,歷時數月後以拋物線式的下滑結束。總體來講,2012年經濟復甦舉步維艱,挑戰超出預期。聯合國、世界銀行和國際貨幣基金組織等國際機構於2012年期間多次下調全球經濟增長預期。2012年成為繼2008、2009年以來近10年中第三個經濟發展增速最低年。經濟發展速度持續放緩,致使嚴重的就業問題和債務問題在世界各國和各地區蔓延,同時引發貿易糾紛增多,大宗商品價格呈戲劇性波動;主要經濟體需求疲軟,發達經濟體進一步釋放流動性,國際金融市場動蕩加劇。一方面發達國家復甦步伐沉重,增速低迷;另一方面新興經濟體增速普遍放緩,投資和消費乏力,使得國際貿易增速明顯下滑,同時爭端頻發,保護主義開始盛行。

中國經濟增長形勢超預期走低,第三季度GDP降至7.4%,低於政府提出的今年GDP確保7.5%的目標。從GDP季度累計同比增長看,經濟形勢已於2010年第二季度的11.2%一路下滑到2012年第三季度的7.4%。由於2001年至2010年十年間中平均經濟增長速度為10.5%,當前中國經濟增速已明顯低於過去十年平均水平。但在中國第二、三季度超預期回落的同時,並無出現大規模失業和通貨緊縮,並且消費持續逆勢上揚,基礎設施建設投資大幅增長,房地產政策微調帶來的剛需釋放,使得中國宏觀經濟增速在2012年9月份到達最低值之後出現反彈,同時在十八大換屆效應,存活周期逆轉,消費持續增長等因素作用下,2012年第四季度中國宏觀經濟重返復甦軌道。

儘管2012 年的經濟形勢有所倒退,但由於電線與電纜廣泛運用於經濟發展多 個方面,對其需求仍保持穩定。它們不僅為各項工業的發展、國防和重點建 設工程提供重大支持,並且為現代經濟與社會運作打穩基礎。中國不斷提高 的用電需求,在過去和將來,為電線電纜行業的發展提供穩定支持。

本集團的電力電纜仍為本集團收益的主要組成部份(2012 年佔總收益約69.1%; 2011 年66.2%)。電力電纜的毛利率由2011 年約15.9%提高至2012 年約17.1%,主要 原因是超高壓電纜等高端產品銷售量的增加,其毛利率高於其他電力電纜產品。

業務展望 - 截至2012年12月31日止年度

展望2013年的中國經濟前景,在錯綜複雜的國際經濟局勢下將充滿變數,然而,本集團已經看到一線曙光。雖然世界經濟低水平增長無可避免,但預期經濟將於2013年加快復蘇。

本集團從事線纜行業,為僅次於汽車行業的第二大工業,佔中國電工行業產值的四分之一,堪稱國民經濟的「血脈」。近年,隨著中國經濟持續增長,中國線纜行業也取得了迅猛的發展,於「十一五」末期,全國線纜行業產值已達到人民幣5,000億元,行業規模已位居全球前列,而產品總體水平也已達到國際先進水平。於「十二五」期間,憑藉各行業的資本投資增加,本集團預期線纜行業將持續快速發展,把握更多的市場機遇。

線纜行業面向中國農村新型智能電網建設及都市化帶來的機遇。中國國家電網和南方電網相繼公佈了「十二五」期間農村農網改造計劃及投資預算,決定實施新一輪農村電網改造及升級工程。國家電網將為農網改造安排人民幣4,100億元,而南方電網則計劃投資人民幣1,116億元,合計達人民幣5,216億元。按此規模計算,新一輪農網改造及升級工程未來三年的總投資金額將超過人民幣3,000億元。隨著農網改造逐步擴展,線纜行業將迎來一個新的發展時期。此對作為農網建設工程主要供應商的電纜生產與銷售企業,將是千載難逢的利好商機及消息。

特高壓電網網絡將成為中國電網在「十二五」期間的重要投資方向和增值。根據中國國家電網公司的規劃,於2015年,「三華」特高壓電網網絡將於華北、華中、華東建成,形成「三縱三橫一環網」網絡系統。於往後三年,特高壓電網網絡的投資金額可達人民幣2,700億元,即為「十一五」期間所投資約人民幣200億元的13倍以上,勢必為線纜行業發展提供巨大市場空間。在中國國內具有較佳品牌效應、產能和技術知識,加上於行業內已具有絕對競爭優勢地位的大規模企業將從中直接獲益。

實現股東回報最大化一直是本集團的發展理念。本集團將把握目前由經濟復蘇以及中國和其他新興國家增加基礎設施建設投資帶來的商機,本集團預期將自經濟動力轉變中獲利。本集團製造生產設備鋁合金產品及倍容量導線的新工場已商業投產,將成為本集團新的收益泉源。同時,在南非設立的新生產線,不單能提高本集團的產能,也能鞏固本集團在南非洲的地位。本集團亦將針對一些有潛力的新興國家,按策略拓展海外銷售。在中國,除維持本集團一直以來的內部增長外,本集團將尋求新的商機,透過策略投資及收購,為本集團創造新的產品、技術及╱或客戶群。通過內部及併購增長,本集團有信心進一步提升其市場份額,並鞏固本集團業內領先地位。

資料來源: 江南集團 (01366) 全年業績公告
集團主席 芮福彬 發行股本(股) 3,077M
票面值 港元 0.01 市價總值 (港元) 4,000M
 
登入名稱
密碼
新用戶注冊   忘記密碼
進階搜尋
© 2021 The Standard, The Standard Newspapers Publishing Ltd.
Home | Business | Metro | Focus | Opinion | Markets | World | Sports | Entertainment | Monday Money | Property | Macau | Weekend