Friday, March 5, 2021
 
Columnist
Martin Hennecke
 
STELLA HOLDINGS
HKEx Stock Code : 01836 
 
Corporate Profile
Principal activities of the Group are development, manufacturing, sales and retailing of footwear products.

Business Review - For the year ended December 31, 2012

Commitment to Quality and Delivering Promises Support Performance

Stella's reputation for quality, flexibility and reliability ensured continued demand for our products, despite the volatile global economy. Our biggest asset is the long-term relationships and level of trust we have forged with our clients by consistently exceeding customers' expectations.

Our ability to deliver quality customised products saw us attract more niche brands as clients this year. This reduced Stella's overall reliance on larger customers, with our top five customers accounting for 56.5% of total revenue in 2012, down from 58.3% in the previous year.

Stable Margins despite Higher Labour Costs Stella has not been immune to the various labour force challenges faced by Asian manufacturers, including high labour turnover and increasing wages. Despite this, our profit margins throughout the year remained steady, due to:

X Stable global demand for high-end products, as industry consolidation pushes a number of brands to engage specialised suppliers such as Stella
X Our high position in the value chain and design-led process, allowing us to attract a higher ASP than the industry average

X Cutting-edge R&D capabilities, led by our design studios in Dongguan, China and Venice, Italy

X The expansion of our production base in low-cost locations, which allowed us to control costs and stabilise our labour supply

Removal of Temporary Capacity Constraints

The Group ramped up production at our new low-cost facilities in inland China (Guangxi and Hunan) and Indonesia in the second half of 2012, removing the temporary capacity constraints that were partially responsible for lower shipment volume this year. Capacity during the year was also temporarily affected by the closing of a trade-processing factory in Dongguan, China (upon the expiration of a trade-processing contract with the local government) and stricter controls on overtime labour hours.

The push to expand our low-cost production base is part of our long-term plan to shift labourintensive operations away from coastal regions of China where the labour turnover rate is high. However, design and higher-skilled processes will continue to remain in Dongguan, China allowing us to increase operational efficiency, without compromising quality.

Our other manufacturing facilities in Dongguan, China and Vietnam operated at close-to-full capacity throughout the year.

Growing Portfolio of Retail Brands

The Group introduced two new retail brands in 2012 as part of our efforts to diversify our retail business and tap more niche markets. In the first half of the year, we launched JKJY, our first malefocused retail brand, opening 9 stores in China. JKJY crossovers fashion and sports footwear and retails for between RMB2,000 to RMB4,000 per pair.

We also opened our first 2 joint-venture stores in China with prestigious Paris-based brand Pierre Balmain.

Our Stella Luna and What For brands continued to increase their reach in the affordable luxury footwear markets of China and other regions, opening new standalone stores at quality retail locations in line with the Group's retail strategy.

Stella Luna targets the high-end footwear and leather goods markets, with prices ranging from RMB1,200 to RMB6,000 per pair. What For, our contemporary and lifestyle brand, retails for between RMB800 to RMB2,800 per pair.

Introducing our Brands on the Global Stage We opened our first Stella Luna store in Paris in December 2012. Located in the city's high-end Saint-Germain shopping district, the store will be the centre of our global marketing and public relations efforts to build a global presence for our brands and to interact more with the western retail market.

Business Outlook - For the year ended December 31, 2012

Steady Order Pipeline despite Volatile Economic Outlook We expect the challenging operating environment present in 2012 will continue in 2013. However, our order pipeline should remain steady as a result of our strong client relationships and our unique positioning as a high-quality manufacturer.

Labour costs and availability will remain a challenge, although we are well advanced in shifting production to locations with labour and cost advantages. We expect the cost of raw materials to remain steady or slightly decline in 2013.

Key risks in the coming years will include a sudden downturn in consumer sentiment in our main export markets. We will also closely monitor the effects of policies adopted by the Chinese government that may provoke RMB inflation or affect the price of input costs.

Addition of more Niche Retail Brands to Further Diversify Retail Business

We remain cautiously optimistic about the medium-to-long term growth potential for mid-to-upper tier footwear products in China. In particular, we feel there is room for growth in niche segments of the market which are emerging alongside the continued sophistication of Chinese consumers.

The launch of our new JKJY and joint venture Pierre Balmain brands this year is the first part of our strategy to engage these niche markets. Leveraging on the experience we build with these brands, we will prudently consider introducing additional brands, either self-developed or as a joint-venture, in order to further diversify our business.

Setting the Stage for Future Growth

As an experienced high-end footwear manufacturer, we will continue to help our customers expand and improve their product categories (including in areas such as leather goods) and consolidate resources for their portfolios.

On the retail side, we will leverage on our recently opened Paris store to build a global platform for our brands and as a stage for future expansion in the years ahead. Closer to home, we will continue our efforts to broaden same-store sales and our product base to further develop our retail business in China. This includes the possibility of extending the retail products offered by some of our brands to include leather goods.

Another focus in the coming year will be the prudent refining and optimisation of our existing retail store network, in order to boost our overall competitiveness and set a solid foundation for future growth and success.

Source: Stella Holdings (01836) Annual Results Announcement
Chairman CHIANG Jeh-Chung, Jack Issued Capital (shares) 794M
Par Value HKD 0.1 Market Capitalisation (HKD) 15,173M
 
Login
Password
Register  Forget Password
Advanced Search
© 2021 The Standard, The Standard Newspapers Publishing Ltd.
Home | Business | Metro | Focus | Opinion | Markets | World | Sports | Entertainment | Monday Money | Property | Macau | Weekend

2021年4月15日星期四
 
專家論市
Martin Hennecke
 
九興控股
HKEx 股份編號 : 01836 
 
公司簡介
主要業務為開發、製造、銷售及零售鞋履產品。

業務回顧 - 截至2012年12月31日止年度

對品質與及時付運的承諾支持表現

儘管全球經濟反覆多變,但九興在品質、靈活性及可靠性方面的聲譽保證了市場對本集團產品的持續需求。本集團最寶貴的資產是透過不斷超越客戶的期望而與客戶建立的長期關係及高度信任。

本集團交付優質定制產品的能力令我們吸引更多利基品牌為客戶,降低了九興總體對大型客戶的依賴。於二零一二年,本集團的五大客戶佔總收入的56.5%,低於上年的58.3%。

儘管勞工成本上升,利潤率保持穩定

九興亦未能免於受到亞洲製造商面對的各種勞動力挑戰的影響,包括流失率高及工資上漲。儘管如此,以下各項有助於本集團於整個年度的利潤率保持穩定:

— 全球對高端產品的需求穩定,且由於行業整合促使若干品牌採用九興等專業供應商

— 我們於價值鏈上的高端地位及以設計為主導的工序,令我們可取得高於行業平均的平均售價

— 由本集團於中國東莞及意大利威尼斯的設計室引領的一流前瞻研發能力

— 擴充本集團於低成本地區的生產基地,令我們控制成本及穩定勞工供應

解決產能短期受限

本集團於二零一二年下半年擴大本集團於中國內陸(廣西及湖南)及印尼的新低成本設施的生產,解決產能之短期受限(年內出貨量下跌的原因之一)。年內產能亦因與當地政府訂立的貿易加工合約屆滿而關閉中國東莞的貿易加工廠房,以及更嚴格控制勞工的超時工作而暫時受到限制。

拓展低成本生產基地為本集團將勞動密集型業務搬離勞工流失率高的中國沿海地區的長期計劃的一部份。然而,設計及技術含量更高的工序仍將繼續保留在中國東莞,可讓我們在不降低品質的情況下提高營運效率。

於整個年度內,本集團於中國東莞及越南的其他製造設施產能利用率已幾近飽和。

零售品牌組合日益多元增長

作為本集團多元化零售業務及迎合更多利基市場的舉措的一部份,本集團於二零一二年推出兩個新零售品牌。於上半年,本集團推出JKJY(本集團的首個以男士為主的零售品牌),在中國開設了9 家門店。JKJY 推出融合時尚及運動風格之鞋履,零售價介乎每雙人民幣2,000元至人民幣4,000 元。

本集團亦與巴黎知名品牌Pierre Balmain 在中國開設首2 家合資門店。

本集團的Stella Luna 及What For 品牌持續將其業務擴展至中國及其他地區的平價奢華鞋履市場,依本集團的零售策略在優質零售點開設新自家專營店。

Stella Luna 針對高端時裝鞋履及皮件市場,價格介乎每雙人民幣1,200 元至人民幣6,000 元。本集團的潮流品味品牌What For ,零售價格介乎每雙人民幣800 元至人民幣2,800 元。

在國際舞台上推出我們的品牌

本集團於二零一二年十二月在巴黎開設首家Stella Luna 門店。該門店位於巴黎高端Saint-Germain 購物區,將成為集團國際市場推廣及公關活動的核心據點,有助於我們品牌全球布局並加深與西方零售市場之互動。

業務展望 - 截至2012年12月31日止年度

儘管經濟前景多變,訂單渠道穩定

本集團預期,二零一二年以來的極具挑戰的營商環境將延續至二零一三年。然而,由於本集團穩健的客戶關係及作為優質製造商的獨特定位,本集團的訂單渠道保持穩定。

儘管本集團已提前將生產轉移至勞工及成本有優勢的地方,但勞工成本及供應仍將面臨挑戰。本集團預期,二零一三年原材料成本仍將保持穩定,或略有下降。

未來數年的主要風險將包括本集團主要出口市場之消費意欲突然下滑。本集團亦將密切監控中國政府可能採取的相關政策,或會導致人民幣升值或影響投入成本價格之影響。

增添更多的利基零售品牌以進一步多元化零售業務

本集團仍對中國中高端鞋履產品的中長期市場增長潛力持審慎樂觀態度。我們尤其認為,隨著中國消費者日趨精明而湧現的利基細分市場仍有增長空間。

我們今年推出新品牌JKJY 及合資品牌Pierre Balmain ,為本集團滲透該等利基市場奠基。憑藉本集團於該等品牌累積的經驗,我們將審慎地考慮推出其他自主研發或合資品牌,以進一步實現品牌業務多元化。

奠定日後增長基礎

作為經驗豐富的高端鞋履製造商,本集團將持續幫助客戶擴大及改善彼等的產品類別(包括在皮件領域)以及為彼等的組合整合資源。

來年,在零售方面,本集團將充分利用最近開設的巴黎門店為我們的品牌建立全球平台,並作為日後擴充的一個基礎。回歸源頭,本集團將持續擴大同店銷售及產品組合,以進一步發展我們在中國的零售業務,包括有可能擴充本集團若干品牌的零售產品組合至皮件產品。

來年的另一個重點將是審慎完善及優化本集團的現有零售店網絡,以提高我們的整體競爭力及為日後發展及成功奠定穩健基礎。

資料來源: 九興控股 (01836) 全年業績公告
集團主席 蔣至剛 發行股本(股) 794M
票面值 港元 0.1 市價總值 (港元) 15,173M
 
登入名稱
密碼
新用戶注冊   忘記密碼
進階搜尋
© 2021 The Standard, The Standard Newspapers Publishing Ltd.
Home | Business | Metro | Focus | Opinion | Markets | World | Sports | Entertainment | Monday Money | Property | Macau | Weekend